Our E-bike nugget with Lapierre in the Atlas mountains


By Lucile
July 7th, 2023

Lapierre, Captain Wild and Pierre-Alain are a winning trio, no doubt about it.

It's a nice little mix of cycling enthusiasts, Sunday adventurers and an ambitious sportsman... And wham, it's an Enduro E-bike trip in the Moroccan Atlas!

And since we like to share our adventures, what could be better than a report from our latest team, straight back from a few days in the Moroccan Atlas? Come on, pour yourself a mint tea, put on your babouches and enjoy your reading!

The Lapierre x Captain Wild adventure

"One name, 3 generations, one passion" - Lapierre

For us, Lapierre is to cycling what Millet is to mountaineering... And to be able to imagine Outdoors trips with them was as much fun as achieving a nice little bunny hop on the singles we rode during our lunch break.

We've put a lot of effort into it, and we're proud to be able to count Lapierre among the iconic brands we work with.

A lot has happened at Lapierre since 1946, from the test rides in the Parc de la Colombière... (Dijon, Burgundy - the cradle of the brand). Seeing the big picture was the vision of 3 successive generations who have succeeded each other in developing the brand's image! And in terms of vision for the future, they're not bad at all!

What are Lapierre experiences?

We decided to bring the machines to Morocco, and immediately found a common ground to give brand and sport enthusiasts a holiday they won't soon forget!

The Moroccan Enduro Atlas e-bike

We're not going to tell you the story again... And we're already busy imagining our next trips with the brand. But we don't blame you: when Pierro first told us what he was up to, we wanted to know more, so you can find all the details here.

The summary is simple: 6 Lapierre electrically-assisted mountain bikes, the pioneer of mountain biking in Switzerland, local culture, the Moroccan Atlas as a playground and the Captain Wild touch as a finishing touch. That's the recipe for a successful trip.

For 5 days, the team rode the country's best singletracks and warmed up their thighs at the foot of North Africa's most beautiful mountains. But Captain Wild's made-in doesn't stop there... And for lack of good Reblochon cheese on the spot, we asked Pierre-Alain to find us the best addresses to satisfy our pedalers, as well as the best accommodations to show them off!

And to ensure total pleasure and freedom of movement, luggage was transported from one accommodation to another by car. It was hard to see them pedaling with 10kg on their backs 😉

Lapierre's advantages

Let's talk small, let's talk big. It was on Overvolt AM 500s and in Overvolt technical shirts that our Enduro team discovered the Moroccan countryside. Multi-purpose mountain bikes, for tracing beautiful downhill trajectories while concentrating on the landscape.

Pampered in Pierre-Alain's workshop by Rachid, they were ready for our cyclists in the Moroccan valleys. "The equipment was very well maintained, and the assistance was top-notch! Very responsive" - Chloé

The spotlight

That's when you realize you haven't just picked a random spot on the map. The Moroccan Atlas is the stuff of dreams! A symbol of the country, there are hundreds of km of trails and singletracks for you to explore. Mountains or deserts, there's no time to get bored: there's something for everyone. Photo proof 😉

The local Captain

Pierre-Alain and mountain biking have a long love affair! After gaining experience in road racing, he moved to Morocco in 1992, enabling all enthusiasts to discover the country with pedals under their feet. Something tells us that the "Rallye des Moniteurs" 2 years earlier had left its mark on our Captain... No doubt he'd be the right man for the job!

The consensus was unanimous, and at the end of the stay he was even pardoned by the group, who described him as "nice for a Swiss" and recommended that we thank him with a few bottles of champagne...

"P.A. was a pro right to the end, from his knowledge of the country, the terrain and the local people, to his technical skills and his ability to adapt to the group and the situation. Knowing that we were from 25 to 60 years old with all different levels, but with the same desire to have fun, share and enjoy the moment." - Chloé

Southerners in Morocco

"One name, 3 generations, one passion" - still Lapierre

We had a feeling this Lapierre deal was going to work out. From 25 to 60 years old, this was the perfect mix of people with the same passion for cycling, a family affair too... We're not going to lie, our lovely group also got together for an aperitif brought straight from the south! An unmissable part of every day. We wondered why Ali and Rachid had so much trouble getting the bags onto the roof of the car...

The ascent of happiness

The beginnings seemed rootsy," confides the team. It's true that getting your suitcases off the roof of the car to change in the middle of the desert and camels... doesn't happen every day.

As soon as they left the airport to test the bikes, they were ready for the next 4 days, and what a program it was!

From the Bergerie d'Ali to the 5-star Scarabeo Camp hotel, our 6 guests were able to see the country from every angle, as shown in these images:

"Ali's sheepfold is at an altitude of 2,000 meters, so there's no noise pollution, no light, and the view is magnificent. Not to mention Ali's brother, Nourdine, authentic and true, a good young man. A wonderful lesson in life and a return to basics."

"end up in a 5-star lodge".

All in all, they covered a total of 160km and 3400m d+ on their Overvolts... So much for seeing Morocco off the beaten track. The Captain's tips for a first trip to the country? Don't return home until a few days after the trip is over, to enjoy it to the full, and leave a few days to visit the tourist spots, of course, but also the typical Marrakech, Location at the end of the trip! What's more, Pierre Alain is on hand for all the good addresses...

In short, a first group cycling trip for them, and we can't wait to see them again on a future date 😊

 

Captain Wild and the bike, a long story

Our cycling holidays

We've introduced you to one of our favorite outdoor holidays, but the list goes on! At Captain Wild, there's something for everyone. Enduro, ATV, mountain bike, road, whether in France, Italy, Uzbekistan... There's something to make your mouth water. The good thing is? they're right at your fingertips, so come and have a look here!

The team and their bikes

At the office, even those with no more courage than a limp potato chip have resigned themselves... This summer it'll be mountain biking. We've been collecting bikes in the office for so long that we've had to introduce a few rules. It was getting complicated to concentrate with Axel constantly taunting us with his latest outings! And that's without counting on Seb, our unconditional bike trader, always ready to find the best deal.

I assure you, you could make a novel out of all the Captain's cycling stories. In fact, a second volume was published after the cliffside sofa.

But I think we can stop with this one, which says a lot about the Captain Wild spirit 😉

Notre pépite E-bike avec Lapierre dans l’Atlas


Par Lucile
7 juillet 2023

Lapierre, Captain Wild et Pierre-Alain c’est un trio gagnant, plus de doutes là-dessus.

Un beau petit mélange entre des passionnés de vélo, des aventuriers (pas que) du dimanche et un sportif ambitieux… Et paf, ça fait un trip Enduro E-bike dans l’Atlas marocain !

Et comme on aime partager nos aventures, quoi de mieux qu’un retour de notre dernière team revenue tout droit de quelques jours dans l’Atlas marocain ? Allez, sers-toi un thé à la menthe, enfile les babouches et bonne lecture !

L’aventure Lapierre x Captain Wild

« Un nom, 3 générations, une même passion » – Lapierre

Pour nous, Lapierre c’est un peu au vélo ce que doit Millet à l’alpinisme… Et pouvoir imaginer à leurs côtés des trips Outdoors c’était pour nous autant de plaisir que réussir un beau petit bunny hop sur les singles arpentés pendant la pause dej’.

On s’y est attelé fort, et on est fières de pouvoir aujourd’hui compter Lapierre dans notre répertoire de marques emblématiques avec lesquelles on travaille.

Depuis 1946, il s’en est passé des choses chez Lapierre depuis les tests aux allées du parc de la Colombière… (Dijon, Bourgogne – le berceau de la marque). Voir les choses en plus grand, c’était la vision des 3 générations qui se sont succédées et qui ont su développer l’image de la marque ! Et en termes de vision du futur, ils ne sont pas mauvais !

C’est quoi les expériences Lapierre ?

Nous c’est au Maroc qu’on a décidé de faire rouler les machines, et on a tout de suite trouvé un terrain d’entente pour faire vivre aux passionnés de la marque et du sport un séjour qu’ils ne sont pas près d’oublier !

L’e-bike Enduro Atlas marocain

On ne va pas te refaire l’histoire… Et puis on est déjà bien occupé à imaginer les prochains trips avec la marque. Mais on te comprends, nous aussi la première fois que Pierro nous à dit vaguement ce qu’il était en train de nous concocter on a eu envie d’en savoir plus, alors tu peux retrouver tous les détails ici.

Le résumé est simple : 6 VTT à assistance électrique Lapierre, le pionnier du VTT en Suisse, la culture locale, l’Atlas marocain comme terrain de jeu et la touche Captain Wild en finition. C’est la recette de ce trip réussi.

Pendant 5 jours, la team a pu arpenter les meilleurs singletracks du pays et faire chauffer les cuisses au pied des plus belles montagnes du continent nord-africain. Mais le made-in Captain Wild ne s’arrête pas là… Et par manque de bon reblochon sur place on à demandé à Pierre-Alain de nous dénicher les meilleures adresses pour rassasier nos pédaleurs et des logements qui sortent du lot pour leur en mettre plein la vue !

Et pour assurer un plaisir total et une liberté de mouvement, l’acheminement des bagages d’un hébergement à un autre a été assuré en voiture. On les voyait mal pédaler avec leurs 10kg sur le dos 😉

Les + Lapierre

Parlons peu, parlons bien. C’est sur des Overvolt AM 500 et dans des shirts techniques de la marque que notre team Enduro a découvert les espaces marocains. Des VTT polyvalents, pour tracer des belles trajectoires en descente en se concentrant sur le paysage.

Bichonnés à l’atelier de Pierre-Alain par Rachid, il étaient prêts pour nos cyclistes dans les vallées marocaines. “Le matériel était très bien entretenu, assistance au top! Très réactif ” – Chloé

Le spot

C’est là qu’on comprend qu’on n’a pas juste choisi un point au hasard sur la carte. L’atlas marocain, ça en fait rêver plus d’un ! Symbole du pays, ce sont des centaines de km de pistes et singletracks que tu peux dérouler dans le coin. Montagnes ou déserts, pas le temps de s’ennuyer : il y en a pour tous les goûts. La preuve en photo 😉

Le Captain local

Pierre-Alain et le VTT c’est une longue histoire d’amour ! Après une expérience en compétition sur route, il s’installe en 1992 au Maroc et permet à tous les passionnés de découvrir le pays pédales sous les pieds. Quelque chose nous dit que le « rallye des moniteurs » 2 années auparavant avait marqué notre Captain… Pas de doute qu’il serait l’homme de la situation !

L’unanimité est faite, et à la fin du séjour il est même gracié par le groupe qui le qualifie de « gentil pour un suisse » en nous recommandant de le remercier avec quelques bouteilles de champagne…

« P.A, a été pro jusqu’au bout, de la connaissance du pays, du terrain, des habitants, technique jusqu’à s’adapter au groupe et aux situations. Sachant qu’on était de 25 ans à 60 ans avec tous des niveaux différents, mais avec la même envie de se faire plaisir, de partager et de profiter du moment présent. » – Chloé

Les sudistes au Maroc

«Un nom, 3 générations, une même passion » – toujours Lapierre

On l’avait senti, cette histoire avec Lapierre allait marcher. De 25 à 60 ans, voilà le beau mix qui s’est retrouvé autour de la même passion du vélo, une histoire de famille aussi… On ne va pas se mentir, notre joli groupe a également su se retrouver autour de l’apéro ramené tout droit du sud ! Une étape immanquable de chaque journée. On se demandait pourquoi Ali et Rachid avait tant de mal à monter les sac sur le toit de la voiture…

L’ascension du bonheur

Les débuts semblaient roots, nous confie la team. C’est vrai que descendre les valises du toit de la voiture pour se changer en plein milieu du désert et des dromadaires… ça n’arrive pas tous les jours.

Mis dans le bain dès la sortie à l’aéroport pour tester les vélos, ils étaient prêts pour les 4 jours qui allaient suivre, et quel programme !

De la Bergerie d’Ali jusqu’à l’hôtel 5 étoiles Scarabeo Camp, Nos 6 clients ont pu voir le pays sous tous ses aspects, la preuve en image :

“La bergerie chez Ali est à 2000 mètres d’altitude, pas de pollution de bruit, ni de lumière, visuel, un point de vue magnifique. Sans compter le frère d’Ali, Nourdine authentique et vrai, un bon jeune. Très belle leçon de vie et un retour à l’essentiel. »

“finir dans un lodge 5 étoiles ouffissime”

Au total, c’est pas loin de 160km et 3400m d+ qu’ils ont parcouru sur leurs Overvolts… De quoi dire qu’ils ont vu le Maroc hors des sentiers battus. Le tips du Captain pour un premier voyage dans le pays ? Ne rentrer chez soi que quelques jours après la fin du trip pour profiter pleinement et garder quelques jours pour visiter les endroits touristiques certes, mais aussi typique de Marrakech, lieu de fin du séjour ! En plus, Pierre Alain est sur le coin pour les bonnes adresses…

Bref, un premier séjour vélo en groupe pour eux, et on a hâte de les revoir sur une prochaine date 😊

👉 Découvrir le Séjour

 

Captain Wild et le vélo, toute une histoire

Nos séjours vélo

On vous a présenté un de nos séjours outdoor favoris, mais la liste est longue ! Chez Captain Wild il y en a pour tous les goûts. Enduro, VTTAE, VTT, route que ce soit en France, Italie, Ouzbekistan… Il y a de quoi te mettre l’eau à la bouche. Le point positif ? tu les as au bout du doigts en cliquant, viens jeter un oeil ici !

L’équipe et ses bicyclettes

Au bureau, même ceux qui n’ont pas plus de courage qu’une chips molle se sont résignés… Cet été ça sera VTT. On collectionne les vélos dans le bureau si bien qu’on a dû instaurer des règles, ça devenait compliquer de se concentrer avec Axel qui nous narguait constamment avec ses dernières sorties ! Et c’était sans compter sur Seb, notre trader inconditionnel de vélo toujours prêt à faire la meilleure affaire.

Je te l’assure, on pourrait faire un roman avec toutes les histoires du Captain à vélo. D’ailleurs, un deuxième volume à été publié après le canapé à flanc de falaise.

Mais je pense qu’on peut s’arrêter avec celle-là, qui en dit long sur l’esprit Captain Wild :

🔗 “Comment Escalader une falaise à vélo ?” – Lire L’article